Bruce Blake lives on Vancouver Island in British Columbia, Canada. When pressing issues like shovelling snow and building igloos don’t take up his spare time, Bruce can be found taking the dog sled to the nearest coffee shop to work on his short stories and novels.

Me and the Fabulous Miss Rosie Bitts

Actually, Victoria, B.C. is only a couple hours north of Seattle, Wash., where more rain is seen than snow. Since snow isn’t really a pressing issue, Bruce spends more time trying to remember to leave the “u” out of words like “colour” and “neighbour” then he does shovelling. The father of two, Bruce is also the trophy husband of burlesque diva Miss Rosie Bitts.

Bruce has been writing since grade school but it wasn’t until five years ago he set his sights on becoming a full-time writer. Since then, his first short story, “Another Man’s Shoes” was published in the Winter 2008 edition of Cemetery Moon, another short, “Yardwork”, was made into a podcast in Oct., 2011 by Pseudopod (both collected with six other shorts in Backroads and Alleyways: A Collection of Diversions) and his first Icarus Fell novel, On Unfaithful Wings, was published to Kindle in Dec., 2011. The second Icarus Fell novel, All Who Wander Are Lost, is scheduled for release in July, 2012, with the first book in the four-part Khirro’s Journey epic fantasy coming soon after. He has plans for at least three more Icarus novels, several stand alones, and a possible YA fantasy co-written with his eleven-year-old daughter.

On Unfaithful Wings

I was alive, then I was dead, now I’m stuck somewhere in between.

My name is Icarus Fell. I am a harvester.

The archangel Michael brought me back to collect souls and help them on their way to Heaven–that’s what a harvester does. If I get enough of them before the bad guys do–if I do a good job–I can have my life back. Now people I knew in life are dying, killed by a murderer’s knife, their bodies defiled, and the cops think I’m the killer.

I’m not, but I think I know who is.

But how does a dead man, a man who no longer exists, stop a psycho? I’m not sure, but I’m going to stop him before everyone I know is dead.

I have to stop him before he gets to my son.

Icarus Fell wasn’t very good at being alive, and it turns out he’s not much better at being dead. When two muggers kill him on a rainy night, he thinks it is the final relief he’s been seeking from a life gone seriously awry, but rather than just letting him be dead, the Archangel Michael has other plans.

As a harvester, it becomes Icarus’ job to help souls on their journey to Heaven. But when he’s sent to harvest the soul of Father Dominic, the abusive priest who raised him, Icarus makes one more bad decision in a long string of bad decisions. Soon, people he knew when he was alive start dying under the blade of a sadistic serial killer, and the police have only one suspect: Icarus. Now he has to avoid capture by the police and figure out who the murderer is before the psycho carves a path through everyone he ever cared about, a path that ends with his teenage son.

On Unfaithful Wings is the first novel in the Icarus Fell novel series. The second, All Who Wander Are Lost, will be released summer 2012.

Also available from Bruce Blake on Kindle:

On Facebook

On Twitter


Bruce’s Blog

2 comments on “Bruce

  1. Pingback: The font of knowledge: a rarely examined trope | Guild Of Dreams

  2. Pingback: Welcome Back to the Blog | Guild Of Dreams

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s