Vlog and Podcasts – the future for online writers?

by Autumn M. Birt

A recent article over on NY Times bestselling author Joanna Penn’s blog the Creative Penn said that blogs with video capture more interest and retain visitors much longer than those with only prose.

My first thought was…

 

– Autumn writes novels set in worlds without cell phones, internet, or video. OR if it technology does exist, she finds ways to blow it up. She likes it there. Learn more about her epic fantasy series the Rise of the Fifth Order and check out her newest release, the beginning of a military dark fantasy series Friends of my Enemy, at AutumnWriting.com. You can also find her on Facebook, Twitter, and Goodreads. And now on video. Good gods.

5 comments on “Vlog and Podcasts – the future for online writers?

  1. I’ve heard that vblogging is the future before. I’m not sure. People definitely prefer short video’s, but do they enjoy the longer ones? I’m interested in what you find out πŸ™‚

  2. Great “post”, Autumn.
    Sadly, I think two of the reasons why the world is moving toward podcasts and video is because they are easier and take less time (for the person watching/listening) and because it allows for people to multi-task. By that, I mean they can check Facebook on their phones while you talk to them from their computer screen.
    Kind of ironic, don’t you think?

    • It is ironic, Bruce. And I can’t say I haven’t done similar. Though I intend to put a few video clips on my site (they aren’t as simple to make as typing!), it doesn’t feel natural at all. At least not to me. Give me a few years, I guess!

Leave a Reply

