Merging Worlds

This post isn’t going to be in my series of Modern Writer posts. Actually, it isn’t really even directly about writing.

This post, instead, is going to be of a fanboy/enthusiast post with a writerly bent to it.

Everyone has their guilty pleasures, things that they enjoy that might not be mainstream or well-received. We all have our “fandoms”, to steal a term my teenage sister uses with some regularity.

But what happens when your fandoms collide, or even more extreme, when your fandoms collide with your writing.

I don’t think that I’ve ever really posted about this, but in the last year and a half I’ve become a rather dedicated Magic: The Gathering player. I played a few years ago, once in a while, when I was in High School. But I never really got into the game. A few people at work got me into it now and I’ve really taken a liking to it.

My favorite part is building decks. Taking a collection of similar cards and assembling a working unit out of them.

The game takes a variety of different mythological creatures and archetypes and uses them in different way.

This has crept into my head lately via the titles for my novels. The Cerberus Rebellion, The Hydra Offensive, The Centaur Incursion, etc. I’ve started building decks based on these creature types. It isn’t anything competitive, but they’re amusing to build.

How have your fandoms collided? Have you written about a game that you play? Do you enjoy reading stories about games that you’ve played?

Leave a Reply

