Writers’ Resources

by Bruce Blake

To be quite up front with all of you, I’ve been struggling to come up with something to write about for this post. Maybe it’s the time of year (it’s rainy and dull where I live); maybe it’s because I’m back working a job. Whatever the reason, I decided to shamelessly jump on Autumn Birt’s suggestion on our Facebook group when she asked if any of us had heard of IndieReCon.

I had, in fact, heard of this interesting beast. In fact, I took part last year…though I did so after the fact.

For those of you who don’t know, IndieReCon is an online conference for Indie authors. It features hourly posts 12 hours/day for three days with keynote speakers, authors, publicity savvy folks, marketing gurus, and a whole lot more. Best of all, it’s free, and it’s coming up in just a few days. Go check it out…I’ll wait for you. Here’s the link.

Pretty cool, heh?

Autumn’s reminder about InidieReCon got me thinking about all the great resources there are available for authors these days. My first writing course I did, I had to mail in the assignments and wait three weeks for my instructor to get back to me. How times have changed.

Now, there are numerous ways for a writer to hone their craft. Usually, the best place to start is just about any author’s blog. It seems that, if there’s one place writers stick to the old adage, ‘write what you know’, it’s on their blogs. Some popular ones where you’ll find some great info include JA Konrath’s A Newbies Guide to Publishing , Joanna Penn’s The Creative Penn, Kristine Kathryn Rusch (especially her ‘Business Rusch’ posts), Dean Wesley Smith, Russell Blake (no relation) and many others, including the authors on the site you’re reading right now.

Another great resource for writers are the many forums and communities like KBoards’ Writers Cafe, AbsoluteWrite’s Water Cooler, writing.com, et al. I’d throw Goodreads, Shelfari, and the other reading communities in here, too.

Finally, if you’re after writing resources, simply enter those two words into Google and see what you come up with. I did, and here’s the first site that popped up. 50 free resources? Count me in!

What are some writer-centric websites you frequent? Where else can a writer go to learn their craft or cavort with like-minded wordsmiths?

By the way…drop by my blog between today (Feb. 20) and Sat. (Feb. 22) to find out how to get some good, cheap urban fantasy reads and enter for a chance to win a $100 Amazon gift card.

—–

Bruce Blake is the author of eight, father of two, and husband of one. If everything in his life goes well, only one of those numbers will ever increase.

2 comments on “Writers’ Resources

  1. LOL, Glad I helped you with a post topic, Bruce! And I’m very happy to hear there is a way to see the presentations at IndieReCon after the fact as you hinted? Besides the fact that most of the events are during my work day, my office is also moving next week! I’ll be unpacking and without internet. Not even a chance of me sneaking online to check out something. 😦 And I’ve highlighted a LOT of topics I’d like to hear about…

Leave a Reply

