Freeflow Writing

warrior_priestsTypically, I’m a very organized writer. I still have binder upon binder in my closet from when I was younger. The only thing inside are the worlds that I would later (or not) write about.

But something that I’ve learned is that I tend to stall out around 2/3 of the way through my novels. It’s happened with every novel that I’ve actually typed out and it’s happening right now with The Hydra Offensive. Part of it is the fact that my schedule is completely upside due to a temporary reassignment at my job, but it started before that as well.

So what do you do when you’re up against a wall and even your detailed plains aren’t enough to drag you through it?

I freewrite. It doesn’t even have to be in the story that I’m having trouble with. I can’t count the scraps of paper I have folded up all over the place with a short blurb of a story scrawled across them.

I think that freewriting helps unclog the mind because you don’t have the pressure of progressing the story or building up to a certain point. You can just write what’s on your mind and forget about it if you want.

So what does freewriting do for you? Or better yet, for those who are freewriters normally, do you find that organized writing can help break a writer’s block?

Leave a Reply

