How Life Affects Art

The worlds that are created by authors are, naturally, extensions of the author that creates them. From the worldbuilding to the way that characters interact with each other, all of it will be shaded by the life and experiences of the author in some way.

Authors use their experiences as sources of inspiration, we draw on situations that we have been through to build scenes, navigate our characters through the minefields we’ve laid out for them, and to bring an emotional bond to our readers.

My father passed away a little more than 2 weeks ago. Burying him was the hardest thing I’ve ever had to do. But even in this I’ve found inspiration and things that I can draw on in the future when I’m writing scenes for my characters.

So even in the bad, find the good. What doesn’t kill us, makes us stronger. And better writers.

3 comments on “How Life Affects Art

  1. Channeling chantellyb, sorry for your loss. That is so true. And without life experiences we wouldn’t have much to draw on, leaving emotionless words on a page. May you stay focused on the positive, never forget the good and give a simple wink when crossing the negative.

  2. It’s been 7 years since my father passed and there’s hardly been a day go by that I don’t think of him and honour him. My first book was dedicated to him.
    I know all the things that made your father a good man will show themselves in your characters.

Leave a Reply

