Lighthouses

By Chantal Boudreau

Have you ever noticed how when something inspires you, you start spotting examples of that thing everywhere around you?  What really inspires me at the moment are lighthouses, so all things associated with those ocean beacons seem to be cropping up everywhere – photographs, paintings, historical societies.  It’s especially likely to happen here Sambro, where we have a particularly interesting lighthouse. It happens to be the oldest operational lighthouse in North America, and it has real history here in Nova Scotia – funding for the lighthouse was the first act passed in our House of Assembly and battles in the American Revolution and the War of 1812 happened within close proximity of the historic property.  Now a new battle wages there – the battle to preserve it, in the face of a government who would see fit to leaving it fall to neglect.  It’s sad, in a way, but it’s also encouraging when you meet the people who are dedicated to having it restored.

So why my sudden interest in lighthouses?  Well for one I’ve been in a metaphorical fog of late.  My year, until recently, has been disheartening…de-motivating… and I had lost my mojo for awhile.  But at a conference I attended this month, I encountered a couple of keynote speakers, Amanda Lang and Bill Strickland, who managed to restore some of my missing “oomph”, and I’m living with enthusiasm again.  As Bill said, “Hope is the cure to spiritual cancer,” and he showed me hope.  A human lighthouse, I guess you could say – guiding me out of my fog.

But I also have the release of Prisoners of Fate looming, the third book in my Masters and Renegades series.  There’s a lighthouse in that story that serves as one of the focal points of the tale, a home to the wizard heroes and a symbol of history for Magic University.  Unfortunately, it doesn’t fare as well as the Sambro lighthouse has, but it does serve some of the same purposes – with epic battles waged there and something worth remembering when all is said and done.

So keep an eye out for those lighthouses.  They are more than just a tall building atop a hunk of rock – they are there to guide your way and you never know when you might need one.

 

5 comments on “Lighthouses

  1. I hear you, Chantal, and I see the light. As someone who loves the ocean, I respect the light and admire the individuals who used to man them. I’m sure many people who would have otherwise been claimed by the sea or exposure if they manage to land, were saved by those in the lighthouse.

    Perhaps we were lost in the same fog. From November of last year up until May, I’ve been fumbling my way around. I’m inspired again, not by anything external; something internal kicked back in. I think it’s my love for writing.

    Here’s to motivation and getting back to where we belong in our story.

  2. I’ve lived most of my life in flux, and it seems that whenever I forget how important change is to me, I start to stagnate and lose my inspiration. All it takes is finding something new to grab my interest and throw me onto an uncharted path, and I start learning and creating again. I just have to remember I can’t sit still for very long – always on the lookout for unfamiliar shores.

  3. Classic lighthouses are something I miss about Nova Scotia…I still have Peggy’s Cove show up on my desk top. Out here in the west, there are a lot of automated beacons, but not many of the good old classics.
    I’m happy to hear the fog seems to be lifting for you, Chantal. It’s never a nice place to be, but it sure makes the sun seem that much brighter and warmer when it comes out!

  4. I know the lighthouse of which you speak, and I can see it whenever I’m relaxing on the beach. It’s the one I think of the most, and I know of its history. A small handful of lighthouses have been set aside for funding, so I’ve heard, and it’s odd that this is not one of them. Not surprisingly, the lighthouse at Peggy’s Cove is the most likely to be protected.

Leave a Reply

