What to do About Promo

By Bruce Blake

A while ago, I sort of short-changed everyone on a post and promised to do better when there was a hole in the action, so here I am. I

A hole that needs filling, not the one filled by this post.

A hole that needs filling, not the one filled by this post.

didn’t receive a lot of votes on what to write about, but one request was to do something about promotion (sorry, Autumn…I’ll get to those unlikable characters another time).

It is a timely post for me as I’ve seen my sales drop significantly after laying off the promotion for what has turned out to be too long. I had a great January–which included a free run for the first Icarus Fell novel, On Unfaithful Wings, that I advertised on BookBub–and followed up with an only slightly less successful February in which I did no real promo. Then came March and I started to wonder where all the sales had gone. Hmmm…no promo=no sales? Who knew?

It is time to remedy that situation, so here’s what I’ve got coming up:

The second Icarus Fell novel, All Who Wander Are Lost, will be available for free on Kindle April 17-19. I’ve sent notices to a dozen or more websites about it (and will continue to send more), plus paid for guaranteed listings on three of the bigger ones.

Blood of the King (Khirro’s Journey Book 1) will be going on sale for 99 cents beginning April 25 and I have purchased advertising in the KindleBoards newsletter as well as StoryFinds. This will run at the same time as a 99 cent sale for On Unfaithful Wings, for which I have purchased an ad on BookBub for April 28th. My plan is to change my description of On Unfaithful Wings to include the BOTK sale (as well as a discounted price on other books) to pick up some extra sales.

sign-24017_640All told, I have invested around $250 in this month’s promo. Why do I tell you this? Because some of you might want to see the cause and effect. I will post updates to the blog here to let you know how things turn out and you can all see if the time, effort and expenditure is worth it. I don’t mind being the guinea pig.

See you in a week or so.

—–

Bruce Blake is the author of five novels, including the Icarus Fell urban fantasy novels and the Khirro’s Journey epic fantasy trilogy. He is currently writing the third Icarus novel and co-authoring a historical erotic romance adventure about lady pirates with his wife, burlesque performer Miss Rosie Bitts.

2 comments on “What to do About Promo

Leave a Reply

