Blah, blah, blah…

So I started this blog post twice (three times including this one), and deleted the entire thing both times…let’s see how far I get this time around.

The first time, I thought I was writing about how much I like to both read and write about flawed characters, how I love to follow their journeys as they change and grow. Unfortunately, it turned into some off-the-beaten path rant about why Batman is better than Superman. I know, it seems like an odd tangent, but if you think about how flawed Batman is and how perfect the writers portray the  Man of Steel, you should be able to connect the dots as to how I wandered off topic.

My second attempt, about recurring themes in writers’ works, got derailed by a diatribe concerning yet another email correspondence in which someone called me Blake despite the fact my full name, Bruce Blake, appears at the bottom of the email they received from me, not to mention in my email address. I understand that seeing the tenuous connection between the subject matter and the tirade might be difficult, but it annoys the snot out of me when people do it (which happens a lot), and the same type of screw up ends up annoying a number of characters in a few of my works. A recurring theme, you might say.

Here are a few other subjects I tried on while thinking about what to write for my turn on the guild: writing unlikable characters, deciding what project to work on, the troubles of promotion, my surprising fondness for the TV show Glee, how much I like Joe Abercrombie‘s writing style, how things are going for my wife and I with our foray into writing erotica, how difficult it is to find copies of the Twilight Zone stories written by Rod Serling, and what I’m learning reading The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss. There are some interesting topics amongst those choices, and I’m sure some or all of them will eventually rear their ugly heads–either here or on my blog–but none of them caught my attention tonight.

Is it the pathetic lot of an overactive mind? Have I been using too many electronic devices and they’ve scrambled my brain? Could be, or maybe it is the fact that I’ve been doing some consulting work for an old boss the last two weeks and haven’t written as much as I’d like. No matter which, I feel as though I’ve cheated you all out of a blog post that you richly deserve, so here’s what I’ll do to make it up to you: use the comments below to vote on which subject above you’d most like to hear about (or write in your own suggestion), and I will post again this month on one of the days when the blog would normally lie dormant.

Just remember to call me Bruce or I’ll ignore your vote.

—–

Bruce Blake is the author of the Icarus Fell urban fantasy series and the Khirro’s Journey epic fantasy trilogy. In his off time, he occasionally cobbles together blog posts that make sense to people other than himself.

7 comments on “Blah, blah, blah…

  1. So I wonder how many times Batman would have been called Wayne in error instead of Bruce if he hadn’t been stinkin’ filthy rich (when you consider he’s one of the 1%, he suddenly seems less heroic). Then again, maybe the alliteration factor…”B”ruce “B”lake… plays into it. You could start calling yourself Bruce Wayne Blake or Bruce Batman Blake and see if that has any effect on people remembering your first name’s “Bruce,” not “Blake”…

    • It is so rampant sometimes, I’ve actually considered dropping my last name and just being known as Bruce…like Madonna or Cher. Not sure I have quite the star power to pull that off, though.

    • I have to admit, I’m a little at odds while reading the book. I’ve heard such great things about it, and I am enjoying many things about it, but I’m finding it a little slow moving. Having said that, the writing is excellent and the depth of his world is amazing.

  2. My vote is for writing about unlikable characters. Just because I want to hear you rant about people who don’t do it well (and then offer helpful tips on how to do it well, of course!).

Leave a Reply

