Family Matters

I think we all bring our own experience with family into our writing and those experiences shape the way that we write the family groups in our work.

The issue of family has always been something that has affected my life. To make a long story short, I have more than half a dozen siblings (at least 2 of whom I’ve never met) and no “full” siblings. A random conversation with my wife the other week caused me to wonder what these other half-siblings were like.

Family is an important concept in my writing, not only because of the semi-feudal nobility system that I’ve put in place for my main characters, but because of the way that these families interact with each other and the world around them.

Fortunately for them, most of the characters in the Griffins and Gunpowder world have far less twisted family trees. Two of my main characters, Raedan and Hadrian, are brothers. Their father instilled into them the importance of family and how they needed to stick together to increase the power of the family because it would serve all of them well.

In my upcoming novella, Battle for Broken Plains, I explore how it was that Raedan Clyve ascended from the eldest brother of a baron, to a noble in his own right. And it has a lot to do with Hadrian’s desire to improve the position of his brother and their family as a whole.

On the other end of the spectrum is Eadric Garrard, King of Ansgar. One of his sisters is married to Magnus Jarmann, the Duke of Agilard. Without giving up too much, Eadric has no concern for his own blood, much less the offspring of his wife and one of his own nobles. Later in the series, we’ll meet other members of Eadric’s family and get to see how Eadric handles them.

No matter what the family ties in the Griffins and Gunpowder universe, the influence of each of my characters is heavily affected by their family ties.

Leave a Reply

