Book Review: Intangible by J. Meyers

I wasn’t sure at first which book to do for a review when Bruce announced this round’s theme. I knew it would be a Young Adult one since that’s mostly what I read. I bounced between a few before I decided to do one that I have already reviewed on my blog and Goodreads account but I wanted to spotlight for new readers: Intangible by J. Meyers.

Twins Sera and Luke Raine have a well-kept secret—she heals with a touch of her hand, he sees the future. All their lives they’ve helped those in need on the sly. They’ve always thought of their abilities as being a gift.

Then Luke has a vision that Sera is killed. That gift they’ve always cherished begins to feel an awful lot like a curse. Because the thing about Luke’s ability? He’s always right. And he can’t do anything about it.

I read this book before it was released, back in January of this year. So far, it’s still one of my favorite reads this year. First of all, the author creates intriguing characters with dynamic personalities. She bounces around in POV, and each one is as interesting as the last. Luke and Sera are both likable and funny; Marc who’s gotten himself into some trouble; Jonas is a powerful, wise vampire. I found myself rooting for and enjoying each character, even those who were more ambivalent than others.

Along with great characterization, the author builds a fantasy world that the reader falls into without effort. The various powers and magical creatures drive the story but don’t overpower the characterization. Meyers plays with a familiar myth but is still able to put a new spin on it. We also see familiar creatures like vampires and fey, but because of their unique characters, they don’t feel like overdone caricatures.

The pacing is spot on, and the story builds with new subplots and mysteries. Towards the middle, I got just a tad impatient to see how Luke’s vision was going to play out. But the end is not a let-down — just as soon as you think the characters have made it, the author throws them another curve ball that makes the climax truly an on-the-edge-of-your-seat experience.

This young adult urban fantasy will appeal to readers of Cassandra Clare and Jennifer L. Armentrout. The sequel, Imaginable, should be here early 2013, and it’s a book I’m eagerly awaiting!

Leave a Reply

