A Few Words From…Nicole Storey

As promised, today begins the Guild Of Dreams first cycle of guest posts. Some will be random musings, some will be interviews, some will be…???

For our first guest, I invited Nicole Storey. I first ‘met’ Nicole through a variety of groups on Facebook, and she has turned out to be the epitome of what every independent author should be: friendly, encouraging, and always willing to lend a hand.  The first book in her Grimsley Hollow YA fantasy series was a semi-finalist in the Kindle Book Review Best Indie Book of 2012 and both the books in the series have received rave reviews. Have a read of what she has to say, then go buy her wonderful books.

Without further ado, I give you Nicole Storey.

 

Secret Formula

Recently, I asked a question on my author page: What is your secret formula for choosing the books you read? The combinations varied, but they all consisted of four major points: Synopsis, Reviews, Book Cover Art, and Star Rating. While I agree these are important factors, they are not the end-all-be-all to choosing a great book.

I must admit I am first drawn in by a book’s cover. In my humble opinion, if an author spends months writing a book and bearing their soul to the world, the cover art should reflect the story, be professional-looking, and scream “You’ve got to read me!” I mean, why spend so much time bleeding over a keyboard, editing, rehashing a tale so many times you almost grow sick of reading it, only to slap a non-descript, plain-Jane cover on it? I recently read a book I downloaded for free during a KDP Select promo I had on my kindle for months. Why did I wait so long? The cover was as boring as they come. It didn’t speak to me. It did not reveal anything about the story at all. In the end, the book was very good, but I wonder how many others have passed it over just because of the cover art?

If the cover reels me in, the next point I consider is the synopsis. As I am also an author, I can assure readers this is probably one of the hardest parts of writing a book.

An example of a great cover

Imagine trying to squeeze an elephant into one of those mini-cars and you have an idea of the level of difficulty writers go through when coming up with a good synopsis. Writing the book is a breeze compared to taking 80,000+ words and condensing them into a paragraph or two. The “blurb” must be interesting enough to make the readers wants to know more without giving too much of the story away. If a book has a great synopsis, you can bet the rest of the story will be just as amazing.

The last points, star-rating and reviews, don’t mean as much to me as they do others. Why? It’s very simple: We are all different. What’s good for the goose isn’t always good for the gander and vise-versa. I may see a book with a low star rating and puny reviews and love the story. Also, I may read a book with glowing reviews and a 5-star rating across the board and think it’s one of the worst things I’ve ever set my eyes on. There is no author in this world who can please everyone all the time. Books are a form of art, just like music, paintings, and movies. Maybe a better comparison would be food – we all have a dish we’re partial to and some we avoid like the plague.

So, my question to you is: What’s your secret formula for choosing the perfect book?

 

*Nicole Storey is the author of the Grimsley Hollow series – a story set in a Halloween world with an unlikely hero. She lives in Georgia with her husband, two children, and two very energetic kittens. If you’d like to know more about Nicole, you can find her here:

 

Face Book: https://www.facebook.com/nicolestoreyfans

Personal Website: http://nicolestorey.weebly.com/

Publisher’s Website: http://www.inknbeans.com/

Blog: http://nicolestorey.wordpress.com/

Twitter: @Nicole_Storey

 

Nicole’s books can be found on Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Nicole-Storey/e/B005J8CKPG/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1349992998&sr=1-2-ent

They are also available on Smashwords, Barnes and Noble, and the Apple store.

 

6 comments on “A Few Words From…Nicole Storey

  1. Thanks for this, Nicole and Bruce! All writers should pay close attention to these words, because Nicole obviously knows how to connect with readers.

    Personally, the main reason I’ll choose a book is the synopsis or back cover blurb. I appreciate a good cover and abhor a poor one, but I don’t think I have ever selected a book or rejected one based on the cover – except that I tend to pass over the books with the cliche covers, like a fantasy with the typical painting of a warrior and a buxom maiden in a cave or on a mountainside, even if the buxom maiden IS a warrior.

    And while I enjoy reading reviews, they usually don’t dictate my reading choices. Often, I find I have the opposite reaction to a book compared to most commercial reviews in newspapers and magazines.

  2. Thanks for your kind words, Scott. 🙂 You are absolutely correct, as many covers these days are simply close copies of another. Writers need to be just as unique and adventurous when choosing their book covers as they are in their writing.
    Many thanks to Bruce for the honor of being a guest on his blog!

  3. I have to agree, Scott. An iffy cover makes me wonder about the quality and professionalism of the author, but it doesn’t deter me from reading the blurb, and if that catches my attention, I’d still pick up the book. Reviews, however, could be written by anyone, and who knows what their tastes are.
    Thanks for putting this together, Nicole. Great post!

  4. Pingback: A Little of This and That « Nicole Storey's Chaotic Thoughts

Leave a Reply

