What I Did on My Summer Vacation

I wish I could tell you that I spent my summer breezing around Europe, or at least making a short journey to France (like I did a few years ago – see the lovely pictures) but the fact is my life is a little complicated at the moment, and time and money wouldn’t allow for it. My writing and publishing efforts are only a small part of it. Family obligations are another, but the big thing this summer was having to pay for a new heating system. We chose to invest in a cost efficient combo oil and wood burning furnace, but it came with a higher upfront price and it required some renovations.

Now, I like to say that I can write anytime/anywhere, but that only holds true when I’m away from home with my music cranked so I can ignore the people around me, or when I’m home with my usual chaos. It turns out, when I have friendly invaders working on my home, getting in the “zone” is nigh impossible. I tinkered with a couple of short stories, mainly experiments outside of my regular genre and comfort zone, but made very little progress on my current novel. I’m hoping it’s just a temporary thing and that I’ll get back on track once the wonderful workmen are gone. If not, I’ll be struggling to get this one, Providence, in the bag before I embark on my latest NaNoWriMo attempt, and I’m still undecided as to which of my projects I’ll tackle for that. Right now it’s a toss-up between Wearers of Skin, another myth-based dark fantasy/horror, or a myth-based straight fantasy called Akin to the Wind. I just can’t decide.

With my writing suffering, I’ve been focussed a little more on family activities, like going to the beach, and mundane things like cleaning the basement and walking the dog. Maybe this is a sign that I need a vacation from writing as much as I need one from my accounting work. When you find yourself working the equivalent of two full-time jobs, no matter how much you love them, eventually you’re going to need to recharge.

So that’s where I am right now, refuelling before NaNo and not one but four books scheduled for release over the next few months (three novels. and one story collection). I’ve been submitting like a mad woman, and I’ve gotten a few acceptances and a few rejections back so far. But I’m losing steam on that too, and I think I should spend the next week of my vacation just not even thinking about stories or books. Maybe I can “cleanse” my system and start fresh at the end of the month.

And as far as my lack of travelling this vacation?…Well, there’s always reading stories written by somebody else or just daydreaming of France on the beach —maybe in five year’s time I’ll get back there when the debt for the furnace is paid off.

2 comments on “What I Did on My Summer Vacation

Leave a Reply

