An Interview with Dar

My novel Promising Light is about a young girl named Grace. When a family of shape changers tells her she can break the curse on their family, she realizes that to help them she must leave behind everything she loves. It has adventure, romance, magic, and more!

One of my main characters is Dar, a man Grace is having a secret relationship with. He breaks it off in the first chapter after a mysterious man warns Grace about Dar. He’s here for an interview today, set shortly before the beginning of the book.

Would you say your childhood was happy? Why or why not?
Yes, for the most part. I had a comfortable life since my father was quite wealthy as the governor of the state. My sisters and my cousins and I used to get into all kinds of good trouble. We dealt with prejudice, but it didn’t truly start to threaten our way of life until I was fourteen. Even then, we had good times with one another. I couldn’t have asked for a better childhood.

What are you passionate about these days?
Grace. I love meeting her, talking with her, writing her letters, sneaking around with her. It’d be nice to not have to sneak around, but I’ll do what I have to to keep her safe.


What do you do to unwind and relax?
I like to look at the stars late at night. Looking at the constellations and just breathing in cool night air slows my mind down. Something about the openness around me, the massive heavens above me. It reminds me that me and my problems are actually quite small.

What makes you happy?
My parents. Cherries. Grace. I’m a simple person, really.

If you could tell someone who didn’t know about shape changers one thing about your family, what would it be?
I wouldn’t tell them anything. Keeping quiet is safer for all of us, especially up against the Protectors.

Do your friends think you are an introvert or an extrovert? Why?
An introvert. I don’t usually go out of my way to attract attention or make friends. With my friends, I can be outgoing, but in general, I’m more reserved than friends of mine.

Where do you dream of traveling to and why?

I’ve been there once or twice, but I’d like to visit Jolen. It’s a country to the northwest of ours and about half of it is bordered by ocean. When I visited last, I was burying a very close friend of mine, so I didn’t particularly enjoy it. But it was beautiful and warm and I’d like to return sometime. It’d be nice to go with Grace.

If you could apologize to someone in your past, who would it be?
I think Emily answered that in the first chapter of the book. I can’t believe they wrote a book about us. Actually, perhaps I can. We went through a lot, and it’d be nice for people to know our story.

Thanks, Dar! It’s always great to see you. And thank you, reader, for joining us!

Leave a Reply

