We’re not so different, you and I…or are we?

I wanted to do a second post for this round because I liked both of the themes that were suggested. My previous post, Jump!, was going to bounce around in my head forever if I didn’t get it out, but I also wanted to discuss the differences between my writing and most other fantasy.

Now, I’m not so arrogant as to say that my world is the first to implement the technological aspects that I have chosen (rifles, railroads, telegraphs), though it is rather rare. There is precious little in the way of Gunpowder Fantasy floating around, so it is different than most other fantasy fiction.

I’m also not the first person to include a healthy dose of politics and intrigue in my world. I think George RR Martin is probably one of the leaders in this regard, and I’ll readily admit that I draw a lot of inspiration for my cloak-and-daggery and betrayal from his A Song of Ice and Fire series.

The Cerberus Rebellion showcases this a little bit, but as the series progresses the reader will be introduced to some rather shady characters and political power struggles right alongside the war that ravages the nation of Ansgar.

I think what’s rather unique about my the universe that I have constructed is the blending of these elements with traditional Fantasy-fare. While I haven’t introduced them all yet, the Griffins & Gunpowder universe includes Elven snipers, Orcs that fight with hand-cannons strapped to their arms, a human mage that rides griffins and the power struggle for not one, but two thrones.

I’ve always liked working politics into my stories. Nearly all of my unpublished space opera novels include a significant character that is heavily involved in politics and the Griffins & Gunpowder universe has major political action, outside of the direct scope of the Ansgari Rebellion series (name WIP), that will be highlighted in spinoff series and companion novellas.

So if you like action blended with guntoting fantasy creatures and political intrigue, check out The Cerberus Rebellion and keep your eyes out for the rest of the series!

One comment on “We’re not so different, you and I…or are we?

  1. Pingback: Politics in Fantasy « Gunpowder Fantasy

Leave a Reply

