The Beginning: An Opening and an Introduction

Hello everyone,

My name is Kody Boye. I just wanted to start off first by thanking our wonderful creator, Bruce, for opening up this blog to myself and all these other fantasy bloggers here. I’m sure we’ll have a great time.

To introduce myself, I’ll start with a little synopsis:

I’m Kody Boye. I was born in Southeastern Idaho and started writing when I was seven, after a teacher assigned my class an object-specific writing topic. At the time, I wasn’t sure how to react, but right when I began writing I became so engrossed in the process that I wrote throughout the entire time period in class, then at our first break. My love of writing continued to escalate throughout my youth and into my teenage years, where I eventually made the transition from fantasy to horror, and I eventually was published at the age of fourteen in the Yellow Mama Webzine with my short story [A] Prom Queen’s Revenge.

Fast forward a few years later and I’ve become mildly-successful with my writing. I’ve put out a few books, both independently and through presses, and have made a small name for myself. I’ve done what some people in the past never got to do due to the lack of the internet, so to say I’m incredibly-thankful for my writing career at this point would be an understatement.

I began writing as a child because it was somewhat of a joy. As a teenager growing up in small-town Southeastern Idaho, where both the pressure from religious persecution and a number of other things were weighing on me, I used it as an escape mechanism to run away from the problems I was having (which included, but was not limited to: atheism/agnosticism, a blossoming mental disorder, my sexuality, and the fact that I was so horribly bullied.) At the age of fifteen, when a specific event forced me to leave school, I poured myself into my writing, and for the next few years I worked myself to the bone to produce what I thought were substantial and complex works. I wrote a handful of novels during that time that will never see their light of day in their current incarnation, and eventually I began rewriting my true love—fantasy—when I was sixteen. I did this because, at the time, I had a brain tumor scare that I believed would leave me incapable of writing. That, however, didn’t happen, and I am still here today to write and share my story.

At twenty, living with friends in the capital of Texas and making my living on my writing, I write for a variety of reasons. I write to support myself. I write to entertain myself. I write as an escape mechanism. I write to transport myself to other worlds and see other places, to understand different peoples and cultures and times and scenarios. I also write to entertain and make others happy, to uplift them or take them to a place where they can feel safe (or sometimes utterly terrified) for any given length of time. Most importantly, though, I write for myself—because in the end, I couldn’t see myself doing anything else, and because I feel it is ultimately what I am supposed to do with my life.

4 comments on “The Beginning: An Opening and an Introduction

  1. Hi Kody!

    I’m so glad that writing has given you a purpose and an escape. I grew up in a small and religious town (that sternly warned my mother once that the books I was reading would send me to hell! GASP!). I’m also really happy that we’ve all gotten together and gotten to know and support each other here at the Guild! 🙂

  2. Thanks for your post, Kody. Having read a little about you and some of your stories, I know your candor and unique perspective is going to add a great deal to the Guild of Dreams. We are all happy to have you part of the family.

  3. @Weifarer — Definitely so! And ugh. I can only imagine how it must’ve been growing up with THAT kind of stigma. 😦 That sucks.

    @Bruce–No problemo! I hope my perspective is unique, or at least somewhat different.

    @Carl–Thanks! LOVED working with you as well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

