What Can I Say?

As I sit here wondering what I’m going to write about, I find myself faced with thousands of those nagging little self-doubts. Oh, I can write on my own blog, but that’s just my little corner of the world and I am usually addressing writers. What can I possibly say to readers?

Well, then I realized–hey, I’m a reader too!

It’s true that there’s probably nothing I can say that you haven’t seen a million times before. After all, the internet is just packed with fantastically written information, and one of the most common themes is writing, publishing and reading.

That’s the beauty of words though. No one is going to put them together in the same way. You can find something new and exciting in each new style. Every time you choose to go on a new adventure with an author, you get the chance to feel new feelings and see things from a new point of view.

Everything is New

It’s been said that there is nothing new under the sun and there are several theories about how many basic plotlines there are ranging from 7 to 36. Just a couple of opinions include Ronald Tobias’ claims that there are 20, and George Polti’s that says 36. Most people can agree, I think, that if you try hard enough you can see the similarities to other stories in anything you read. The beauty of it is that there are new ways to tell the same story. New twists, new attitudes, new ideals–that’s what makes it all so exciting.

That’s why I write. I write to find the joy of discovery. I write to examine my own life, the choices I make, and I write to understand others. I am not that good at sticking to a genre. I do write fantasy, but I write several other genres as well. But what I love the most about fantasy is the ability to create worlds. You do that to a certain extent in all genres, but none as totally and completely as what is possible in fantasy. There are no limits or boundaries, and even when you are working in a “known” realm or character type, you can still bend and shape them to your own ideals.

For instance, if you happen to have a demon that isn’t happy with life in hell–I mean, who would be–you can have them struggle to escape and when they get to earth, show them in a whole new light. Not many people would consider demons hot or sexy, or see that they have a desire to understand people and care about them–but you can if you see it that way. That’s how Hell’s Own started, and Alexander was born in my imagination; as a desire to see and understand people from a unique perspective. I think his is about as unique as you can get.

Tami Parrington is a freelance writer and author of seven novels including Hell’s Own. Check out Hell’s Own on Amazon.com at http://www.amazon.com/Hells-Own-ebook/dp/B001B8QFF4

2 comments on “What Can I Say?

Leave a Reply

